About the Trust & Trustees

The Shropshire Hills National Landscape covers quarter of the county and there is a need to do much more to help nature recover, to conserve what is left and to help address the environment and climate crisis facing us.

The Trust's main ojectives are fundraising, developing organisational capacity and co-operative working with other people and groups.  If you have experience in these areas and are interested in getting involved, we'd love to hear from you. 

Friends of the Shropshire Hills AONB stand

Becoming a trustee

There are eight trustees serving for up to three consecutive two or three year terms.  Four trustees are appointed by the Trust, three are nominated by the Partnership, and the National Landscape Team Manager, Phil Holden, sits ex-officio.

Despite the differences in how they are selected and their terms of office, all trustees have the same obligations and equal voting rights.

This governance structure is intended to provide a balance between appointed members and those with a link to the National Landscape Partnership. In this way, the Trust remains legally and functionally independent of the Partnership.

For more information please contact the Trust through the contact page.

Registered Charity no. 1168432

The Trustees:

Appointed trustees (3-year terms)

  • Anthony Morgan (chair)
  • Neil Willcox
  • Janet Cobb
  • George Chancellor

National Landscape Partnership members nominated by the Partnership (2-year terms):

  • Rachel Cockett
  • Charles Edwards
  • vacancy

Ex-officio (term defined by employment as National Landscape Team Manager):

  • Phil Holden